Thank you for sharing this page.


EUA Convention in Glasgow: Keynote Speakers and Working Group Conclusions

3rd EUA Convention - Strong Universities for Europe

31 March - 2 April 2005
Glasgow, United Kingdom

Welcome Addresses

  • Muir Russell, Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Glasgow
  • Jack McConnell MSP, First Minister for Scotland, UK
  • Georg Winckler, EUA President 2005-2009

Plenary Session I

  • Andrew Hamnett (Chair), Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Strathclyde
  • Georg Winckler (Chair), EUA President 2005-2009
  • Kim Howells  MP, Minister of State for Lifelong Learning, Further and Higher Education at the Department for Education and Skills, UK
  • Ján Figel, European Commissioner for Education, Training, Culture and Multilingualism
  • Eric Froment, EUA President 2001-2005

Plenary Session II

Plenary Session III: Higher Education and Research in an International Context

  • Andre Oosterlinck (Chair), Rector, Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium
  • Goolam Mohamedbhai, Vice-Chancellor, University of Mauritius; President, International Association of Universities
  • Abdellatif BencherifaAbdellatif Bencherifa, President, University Moulay Ismaïl, Meknès, Morocco
  • Tin Pui Leung, Vice-President, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
  • Luis Alfredo Riveros Cornejo, Rector, Universidad de Chile, Santiago, Chile
  • David Ward, President, American Council on Education, Washington, USA

Plenary Session IV: Stakeholder Panel

  • Ian Johnston (Chair), Principal and Vice-Chancellor, Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Germain Dondelinger, Chair, Board of the Bologna Follow-Up Group
  • Monique Fouilhoux, Coordinator for Education and Employment, EI, Education International
  • Heikki Suomalainen, Chairman, Education and Training Working Group, UNICE, Union of Industries of the European Community
  • Vanja Ivošević, President, ESIB, the National Unions of Students in Europe

Plenary Session V: Conclusions and Recommendations

  • Jaak Aaviksoo (Chair), Rector, University of Tartu, Estonia
  • Peter Gaehtgens, Convention General Rapporteur, President, German Rectors' Conference

Main Results and Recommendations from the Working Groups

Closing Ceremony

  • Georg Winckler (Chair), EUA President 2005-2009
  • José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission


European University Association (EUA)

Brussels office:
Avenue de l’Yser, 24
1040 Brussels
Tel: +32 (0) 2 230 55 44

Geneva office:
114, Rue du Rhône
Case postale 3174
1211 Geneva 3
Tel: +41 22 552 02 96