Thank you for sharing this page.


Commission launches SAM

19 November 2015

The European Commission’s new Scientific Advice Mechanism (SAM) was launched on 10 November 2015 announcing the seven leading scientists who will form the first High Level Group of scientific advisors. The seven members of the High Level Group were selected following an open call for nominations and the recommendations of an independent identification committee.

EUA is pleased to announce that Professor Henrik C. Wegener from the Technical University of Denmark, proposed by EUA, has been appointed to the group. The objective of the Scientific Advice Mechanism is to ensure that the Commission has access to the best possible scientific advice, independent of institutional or political interests. It will bring together evidence and insight from different disciplines and approaches, take into consideration the specificities of EU policy making, and ensure transparency. It will complement the in-house scientific services of the Joint Research Centre and existing specialist committees. The first meeting of the group will take place in January 2016. SAM is being launched six months after it was first announced in May 2015 by Commission President, Jean-Claude Juncker, and the Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, Carlos Moedas. It draws on the experience in Member States and worldwide and is supported by a High Level Group of independent science advisors and a stronger relationship with national academies and other bodies.

European University Association (EUA)

Brussels office:
Avenue de l’Yser, 24
1040 Brussels
Tel: +32 (0) 2 230 55 44

Geneva office:
114, Rue du Rhône
Case postale 3174
1211 Geneva 3
Tel: +41 22 552 02 96