Thank you for sharing this page.


New Rector and Rectoral team took office at Universidade Nova de Lisboa

17 October 2017

The ceremony for the inauguration of the Rector of Universidade NOVA de Lisboa (NOVA), Professor João Sàágua was held on 14 September.

Universidade Nova de Lisboa logoIn his first official speech as Rector, Professor João Sàágua recalled the humanistic values that mark NOVA - freedom of opinion and expression, active solidarity, equal treatment and opportunities for all people regardless of their condition, options, or beliefs, honesty, independence and responsibility in all actions undertaken, the pursuit of excellence and the reward of merit. Professor João Sàágua also acknowledged the members of the outgoing rectoral team, and in particular the outgoing Rector, Professor António Rendas, who received a standing ovation from the audience. The Rector presented the lines that will guide NOVA over the next years based on the proposed Action Programme, "framed by the ambition of further consolidating NOVA as a GLOBAL and CIVIC university".
On the same occasion the new Rectoral Team took office. The Rectoral Team is composed of four Vice-Rectors – Professors José Ferreira Machado, José Fragata, Elvira Fortunato and João Amaro de Matos, and four Pro-Rectors – Professors José João Abrantes, Patrícia Rosado Pinto, Isabel Nunes and Isabel Rocha.

More information on the Universidade NOVA de Lisboa's website.

European University Association (EUA)

Brussels office:
Avenue de l’Yser, 24
1040 Brussels
Tel: +32 (0) 2 230 55 44

Geneva office:
114, Rue du Rhône
Case postale 3174
1211 Geneva 3
Tel: +41 22 552 02 96